USB reverse engineering - where to start?

Did you see a new gadget or toy and start brimming with ideas? See something that has tons of potential? Discuss these thoughts here.

USB reverse engineering - where to start?

Postby ntas » December 1st, 2015, 8:35 am

Hi!

First of all, yes, I'm new (here on the forum - I've been a HAD reader for years), hello. I'm an electronics technician at what would've been known as a polytechnic college, immediately before that I'd just completed four years of undergraduate EE study up to HND level (but can't afford to do the final year to convert it into a degree because I already have one) and before that I'd been a hobbyist (yes, I started with Arduino) for about a year or two.

So I've had this brainworm of a project for years now and I think it's finally time to start actually doing something about it. Long story short, I want to roll my own Logitech G27 racing wheel controller - essentially a custom MCU with programming that I have full control over, but one that presents itself to the software as a real G27 so I get the force feedback signal and shift light LED data from the Logitech drivers (the rest of the device is a straightforward HID, I think). I'll have to work out the code that translates the optical encoder, button and potentiometer input into outgoing USB data and then incoming USB data into force feedback motor PWM signals and shift light LED patterns (the latter should be straightforward as it's just a 595 circuit).

The problem is, I know very little about how USB - much less USB device drivers! - actually works so I don't know where to start. I was thinking maybe I'd try sniffing USB data from (and to) my keyboard or mouse, maybe programming a 32u4-based Arduino to present itself as different types of HID devices to get a feel for it, but I just can't see how I'd get from here to making a copy of a G27 complete with force feedback.