Lightweight Browser for a Microcontroller?

Stuck with a problem in your code? Seek help here.

Lightweight Browser for a Microcontroller?

Postby Narios » April 4th, 2016, 1:37 pm

Hi there,

I just searching for days if there is a lightweight browser for burn in microcontrollers without any results.

I am a Frontend developer,I code offline web apps,so if there is any chance to connect a microcontroller to the internet (optional) and allow the users to develop web apps for the platform I will be very happy! (yes I want something like Firefox OS but obviously in a very minimal way).

I don't know what will be my platform (I suppose ARM).

Do you know something about that?

Thanks so much,

Narios
Narios

Re: Lightweight Browser for a Microcontroller?

Postby st2000 » April 5th, 2016, 6:36 am

Problem is that almost all web browsers need a complex UI. Like GTK or Xlib. There are others but for simplicity lets say that's beyond what ever processor you are using. That leaves text browsers. There are several. Lynx, ELinks & W3m. There might me more.

---
edit: added later...

When Unix (Linux & probably Mac) developers want to interact with the web, they generally don't use a browser. They use tools like wget which is a utility that can grab the offerings of the web. Wget has many options adaptable for most any web-scarping purpose. It sounds like this is more what you are searching for - rather than a browser.

The nice thing about Unix utilities with respect to embedded processors is that the source code is normally readily available. In fact, you should always search to see if someone has not already ported the given tool to your processor.
st2000

Postby Narios » April 8th, 2016, 2:53 pm

st2000 wrote:Problem is that almost all web browsers need a complex UI. Like GTK or Xlib. There are others but for simplicity lets say that's beyond what ever processor you are using. That leaves text browsers. There are several. Lynx, ELinks & W3m. There might me more.

---