Android Version Hack

Stuck with a problem in your code? Seek help here.

Android Version Hack

Postby anybodysguess » August 3rd, 2013, 3:41 pm

I have very little programming experience, and don't know if such a thing is even possible, but I thought maybe somebody around here had heard of something like this.
I was wondering if any app or modification for android has been made that can Trick an app into thinking it is running on a different version of android than it actually is. I doubt this would make any apps work that require newer a newer version of android, but it might be fun to try.

This idea stemmed from another idea I had a couple of days ago, Instagram has a new "video" feature that can only be used on android Jellybean. Although I don't see what Jellybean can do that an older version of android can't, I even have thought that this might be a gimmick to try to keep people with lower resolution cameras from posting videos.
And I looked in the Instagram system folder of my Gingerbread phone, and the "videos" folder is there, it might be a very simple mod to the app that would enable the video feature on older versions.

Just some ideas hope to hear some opinions!

Anybodysguess
anybodysguess

Re: Android Version Hack

Postby st2000 » August 3rd, 2013, 8:03 pm

Every version of Android is different. And people who develop for Android have to choose which versions their application will support. I suspect the more versions supported, the larger the Application will get. On top of that, there are new features being added all the time. For instance, the USB AOA protocol is not available on older versions of Android. So you are out of luck if you go back too far. And an Android can (as of now) not handle more than 1 USB device. But the way the Android software is written there might be a day when multiple devices are support. But, obviously, on newer versions of Android.