[Arduino] Safety Tips while Modifying Home Electronics

Got a hardware problem? ask for help

[Arduino] Safety Tips while Modifying Home Electronics

Postby adamoutler » September 14th, 2012, 6:32 pm

Hi, I'm looking for electrical safety tips for modifying home electronics. I'm doing a series on developing an Android App and I'm an electronics tech so I tend to focus around fun electronic geeky stuff... You know, the type of stuff featured here on Hack A Day......

How to Build an Android App Part 5: Arduino ADK – Working with Digital Outputs – XDA Developer TV
How to Build an Android App Part 4: Illumination Software Creator – XDA TV
How to Build an Android App Part 3: Arduino Development
How to Build an Android App Part 2: Writing a Root App
How to Build an Android App Part 1: Setting up Eclipse and Android SDK

I'm going to do a video which will be referenced in a future episode. The idea is to make a video which shows how you can upgrade most home electronics devices by augmenting it with an Android device and an Arduino ADK. I will be modifying a small kids piano to be triggered with relays. I've decided to demonstrate with relays only because they can easily bypass existing switches and they are a good automation tool.

I want to emphasize that these same techniques can be used to control almost any type of touch panel electronic device, but I want to make sure people watching my videos don't cause fires or shock themselves... So I want you guys to help me out with some good tips for "developers"(people not expected to know electronics) who may want to start hacking electronics. I will link this thread into my video so my viewers can come here and absorb everything.

Safety while modifying electroincs with Arduino ADK
  • Never work on a device with power applied.
  • Always expect a fire and monitor for excessive heat buildup while testing operation. Be ready to disconnect power and have a fire extinguisher ready.