Glass harp controlled by OSC

Keep a log of a project build here. Be sure to include pictures and as much documentation as possible.

Glass harp controlled by OSC

Postby igor_b » August 13th, 2012, 12:33 pm

hi everyone!

this is my first project to present on hackaday forum. it is pretty simple and useless but it's fun :)

i have built a glass harp (the thing when you slide wet finger on the egde of the wine glass and it makes sound) that is automatic and also the pitch of the sound can be changed.

video of the finished project: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tUNuTgNU-3c

spinning stand is made mostly from old printer parts and a disk from hard drive. motor is slowed down with simple ne555 pwm circuit. 'finger replacement' is made from piece of wet cotton.

the pitch can be changed by changing the water level inside glass. i did this by submerging water filled ballon in it. balloon height is changed by small servo motor driven by teensy board. servo position can be changed by sending OSC (open sound control) message from my phone (by wifi) to the laptop which then sends command to the teensy board by serial.
igor_b

Re: Glass harp controlled by OSC

Postby xaero » August 13th, 2012, 2:44 pm

That displacement trick is interesting. I wonder if you'd get different sounds by changing how full the balloon is. Obviously you'd get more or less displacement and thus a varied chromatic range, but would it change the timbre?
xaero

Postby igor_b » August 13th, 2012, 3:38 pm

xaero wrote:That displacement trick is interesting. I wonder if you'd get different sounds by changing how full the balloon is. Obviously you'd get more or less displacement and thus a varied chromatic range, but would it change the timbre?